Russians Favorites At Spar European Team Championships

Russian women have won the last 12 competitions and the French men have won two of the past three years; Great Britain won the 2008 competition.

If the Russian men falter, there are other teams that will be sitting waiting to strike.  Great Britain will send 400m Olympic champion Christine Ohurugu and 2009 European indoor champions Dwain Chambers (60m) and and Mo Farah (3000m).  Germany will bring a slew of field event stars including 2009 world number-one Ariane Friedrich, while the host nation of Portugal will rest their hopes on Olympic triple jump gold medalist Nelson Évora and indoor European 1500m champion Rui Silva.

Some interesting new rules have been put in place, which are sure to make the competition more exciting to watch.  For example, athletes who are in last place in the 5000m on laps seven, five and three will be eliminated and pulled off the track.  This should make for some interesting races within the races and the possibility for use of team tactics to eliminate targeted athletes.

For More: IAAF Preview

For More: European Athletics Preview

Privacy Policy | Contact

Recent Stories