Twin Cities Set To Host Four National Championships

Collen DeRueck will look to capture the US women's open and masters marathon titles. Photo:

Race offers the first opportunity for women to qualify for the 2012 Olympic trials marathon.

The 2009 Twin Citiets Marathon weekend will host four national championships over two distances. The championship races are the women’s marathon, men’s and women’s masters marathon, and men’s 10 miles.

The women’s marathon will feature 30 women from the 2008 US Olympic trials, including Robyn Friedman, a top-10 finisher from 2008. Other top contenders include Mary Akor, three-time Grandma’s Marathon champion; 2009 US 20K champion Colleen DeRueck, who boasts a 2:32:25 PR on her 45-year-old resume; and 2009 US 25K champion Sally Meyerhoff of Boulder, CO, with a 2:35:52 personal best from Rock ‘N’ Roll Phoenix in January. The race will mark the first opportunity for women to qualify for the 2012 Olympic trials. Women who run under 2:46:00 will gain entry in to the 2012 Olympic trials.

The master’s championships are also stacked with top talent. Colleen DeReuck is the odds-on favorite in the women’s competition, and as suggested above may also contend for the open division title. DeReuck will face off against 2008 champion Susan Empey. In the men’s race, defending champion Dennis Simonaitis will square off against 2009 US masters half marathon champion Paul Aufdenberge.

Continue Reading

Before the start of the marathon will be the first championship of the day over the 10-mile distance. A solid men’s field will vie for the 2009 US 10-mile title. 2009 US 15K champion Anthony Famiglietti and four-time champion Abdi Abdirahman will headline the field. Challenges will come from Mo Trafeh and Minneapolis native Jason Lehmkuhle, both podium finishers at the US 20K championship.

For More: Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon

For More: USATF

Privacy Policy | Contact

Recent Stories