Footlocker South Regional Recap

Sveinsson and Lutz capture regional titles in Charlotte, N.C.

Source: Kenny Fried/Footlocker Cross Country Championships

Chelsey Sveinsson of Dallas, Texas, and Craig Lutz of Highland Village, Texas, won the Foot Locker Cross Country Championships (FLCCC) South Regional today.  In the girls’ race, Sveinsson, a junior from Greenhill High School, Kathryn Fluehr from Naples, Fla., and Rachel Johnson from Plano, Texas, ran a tight race until Sveinsson took a 100-meter lead late in the race to secure the win in 16:53.  Sveinsson qualifies for the National Finals for the third consecutive year, with her second South Regional title.

Continue Reading

In the boys’ race, Lutz, a junior at Marcus High School, took charge early on and maintained his lead throughout the entire race, finishing in 14:34. Kirubel Erassa from Grayson, Ga., and Jake Hurysz from Mebane, N.C., followed to claim second and third place respectively.

The top ten boys and the top ten girls in today’s seeded races qualified to compete against runners from the Northeast, Midwest, and West Regional meets in the Foot Locker Cross Country Championships National Finals, on Saturday, Dec.12 at Morley Field, Balboa Park in San Diego, Calif.

Boys Qualifiers

Place    Name    Hometown    High School    Time
1)    Craig Lutz    Highland Village, Texas    Marcus High School (11)    14:34
2)    Kirubel Erassa    Grayson, Ga.    Grayson High School (12)    14:43
3)    Jake Hurysz    Mebane, N.C.    Eastern Alamance High School (12)    14:46
4)    Matthew Mizereck    Tallahassee, Fla.    Leon High School (12)    14:51
5)    Brandon Lord    Hixson, Tenn.    Baylor School (12)    14:51
6)    Blake Williams    Durham, N.C.    Northern Durham (11)    14:52
7)    Parker Stinson    Austin, Texas    Cedar Park (12)    14:53
8)    Colin Barker    Atlantic Beach, Fla.    Bishop Kenny (12)    14:53
9)    Kevin Dowd    Fairfax, Va.    Fairfax High School (12)    14:54
10)    Brian Atkinson    Melbourne Beach, Fla.    Melbourne High School (12)    14:57

Girls Qualifiers

Place    Name    Hometown    High School    Time
1)    Chelsey Sveinsson    Dallas, Texas    Greenhill School (11)    16:53
2)    Kathryn Fluehr    Naples, Fla.    Community School of Naples (11)    17:09
3)    Rachel Johnson    Plano, Texas    Plano High School (11)    17:10
4)    Megan Ferowich    Caryville, Tenn.    Knoxville Catholic (10)    17:12
5)    Shelby Hayes    Orlando, Fla.    Winter Park High School (12)    17:12
6)    Wesley Frazier    Raleigh, N.C.    Ravenscroft High School (9)    17:17
7)    Amanda Russell    Cedar Park, Texas    Vista Ridge High School (12)    17:19
8)    Erika Fluehr    Naples, Fla.    Community School of Naples (11)    17:20
9)    Paige Kvartunas    Springfield, Va.    West Springfield High School (12)    17:22
10)    Grace Tinkey     Macon, Ga.    First Presbyterian Day School (9)    17:24

Click Here For Photos!

Privacy Policy | Contact

Recent Stories