Wanjiru, Mikitenko Win Marathon Majors Series Titles

  • By Sean McKeon
  • Published Nov. 3, 2009
Irina Mikitenko and Sammy Wanjiru with their share of $1 million. Photo:

Irina Mikitenko and Sammy Wanjiru with their share of $1 million. Photo:

It is the second consecutive victory for Mikitenko.

The third season of the World Marathon Majors competition came to a close on Sunday, as the final race of the series, the ING New York City Marathon, took place. The two year cumulative competition was won by Kenya’s Sammy Wanjiru and Germany Irina Mikitenko. This marked the second consecutive victory for Mikitenko and the third consecutive victory for a Kenyan male. Both winners were presented with checks for $500,000 for their efforts.

Wanjiru won the title by securing first place at the 2008 Olympics as well as the 2009 London and Chicago Marathons. He also placed second in the 2008 London Marathon. Mikitenko won the 2008 London and Berlin Marathons as well as the 2009 London Marathon. She additionally placed second at the 2009 Chicago Marathon.

Series points are collected for top five finishes with 25 points for first place, 15 for second, 10 for third, 5 for fourth and 1 for fifth. Competitions eligible for scoring include the five “Marathon Majors” (Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York) along with Olympic and world championship marathons.

Winners of the World Marathon Majors series:

WMM series    Men                                   Women

2006-2007       Robert K. Cheruiyot, KEN    Gete Wami, ETH

2007-2008       Martin Lel, KEN                   Irina Mikitenko, GER

2008-2009       Samuel Wanjiru, KEN          Irina Mikitenko, GER

2008-2009 Men’s Final Leader Board

1. Samuel Wanjiru (KEN) 90 pts.

2. Haile Gebrselassie (ETH) 50 pts.

3. Robert K. Cheruiyot (KEN) 41 pts.

4. Abderrahim Goumri (MAR) 40 pts.

5. Tsegaye Kebede (ETH) 35 pts.

5. Jaouad Gharib (MAR) 35 pts.

2008-2009 Women’s Final Leader Board

1. Irina Mikitenko (GER) 90 pts.

2. Dire Tune (ETH) 40 pts.

3. Liliya Shobukhova (RUS) 35 pts.

3. Lidiya Grigoryeva (RUS) 35 pts.

5. Ludmila Petrova (RUS) 31 pts.

5. Salina Kosgei (KEN) 31 pts.



Get our best running content delivered to your inbox

Subscribe to the FREE Competitor Running weekly newsletter