USATF Announces Entire List Of 2009 Award Winners

INDIANAPOLIS – At the Annual Awards Breakfast Saturday morning at the 2009 USA Track & Field Annual Meeting, award winners were announced for their achievements on and off the track. Winners are listed below:

Continue Reading

Youth Athletics Awards:

Frank Savigne Award – Henry McCullough
Bill Hargrove Award – Nebraska Association

Masters Long Distance Running Awards:

Otto Essig Award – David Katz and David Oja
Paul Spangler Award – Evelyn Tripp and Henry Sefnewsky
Outstanding Athletes – Male: Paul Uftenberg  Female: Colleen De Reuck and Joan Benoit Samuelson

Masters Track and Field Awards:

David Palm Distinguished Service Award – John Sato
Race Walk Athletes of the Year – Female: Darlene Backling Male: Chris Schmidt

Associations Awards:

Horace Crow Jr. Award – Paul Morency
Most Improved Award – Southern Association

Cross Country:

Male Athlete of the Year – German Fernandez
Female Athlete – Nealy Spence
Cross Country Council Award – Peter Glavin
Masters Harriers of the Year – Simon Gutierrez and Carmen Ayela-Troncoso

Mountain/Ultra/Trail Running Awards:

Mountain Runners of the Year –
Male – Joseph Gray
Female – Brandy Erholtz
Masters Male – Dave Dunham
Masters Female – Laura Haefeli
Contributor of the Year – Paul Kirsch
Ultrarunners of the Year –
Male – Michael Wardian
Female – Kami Semick
Masters Male – Roy Pirrung
Masters Female – Anita Ortiz

Men’s Long Distance Running Awards:

H. Browning Ross Merit Award – Jack Daniels
Allan Steinfeld Award – Carey Pinkowski
Scott Hamilton Memorial Award – Jack Leydig
Robert E. DeCelle Jr. Award – Meb Keflezighi

Women’s Long Distance Running Awards:

Runner of the Year – Magdalena Lewy Boulet
Marja Bakker Contributor of the Year – Elizabeth Phillips

Athletics for the Disabled Awards:

Distinguished Service Awards – Lionel Leach and Dorothy Dawson

Officials Awards:

Andy Bakjian Award – Ginger Mullineaux
Horace Crow Jr. Award – Win Eggers
Charles M. Ruter Award – Karen Krsak
John R. Davis Memorial Award – Finn Hanson
Jim Grey Humanitarian Award – Val Foss

U.S. Track Meet Directors Association Awards:

Howard Schmertz Lifetime Achievement Award – Brian Brown
Meet Director of the Year Award – Ray Lump

Sports Medicine and Science Awards:

Dr. C. Harmon Brown Award – Jack Ranson, Rick McGuire and Ralph Vernacchia

Women’s Track and Field Awards:

Joseph Robichaux Award – Gary Winkler
C.C. Jackson Awards – Brittney Reese and Sanya Richards

Men’s Track and Field Awards:

Harrison Dillard Award – Tyson Gay
Glenn Cunningham Award – Bernard Lagat
Jim Thorpe Award – Dwight Phillips
Al Oerter Award – Christian Cantwell
John Bennett Award – Trey Hardee
Roy Griak Distinguished Service Award – Ed Gorman

For more information on USA Track & Field and the 2008 USATF Annual Meeting, visit:


Start your FREE subscription to Competitor Digital today!

Get our monthly digital magazine, weekly running content & exclusive offers delivered to your inbox.

Recent Stories