2011 Peachtree Race Hosting U.S. Men’s 10K Champs

  • By Duncan Larkin
  • Published May. 22, 2011
  • Updated May. 23, 2011 at 4:15 PM UTC
Ed Moran won last year's U.S. 10K Road Championships. Photo:

Ed Moran won last year's U.S. 10K Road Championships. Photo:

The national champion will net $10,000.

ATLANTA — For the fourth time in five years, the AJC Peachtree Road Race has been selected to host the USA Men’s 10K Championship on Monday, July 4. Last year, Ed Moran of Williamsburg, Va., clinched his first USA Men’s 10K title finishing in 28 minutes, 19 seconds, which was the fastest American men’s road 10K clocked in 2010. The USA Men’s 10K Championship is part of the USA Running Circuit (USARC), a USA Track & Field road series featuring USA Championships in distances ranging from one mile to the marathon.

“The USA Men’s 10K Championship has been a welcome addition to the AJC Peachtree Road Race over the past few years. Hosting the event has been a great way to showcase and promote incredible American distance talent on the Fourth of July,” said Tracey Russell, Race Director of the AJC Peachtree Road Race and Executive Director of the Atlanta Track Club.

The USA Men’s 10K Championship features a $30,000 prize purse including $10,000 to the national champion – bringing the total 2011 Peachtree purse to $111,300. In addition, the first 10 U.S. runners earn points at each USARC event with a final Grand Prix prize purse of $12,500 for the top three overall male and female point scorers.

“We appreciate the Atlanta Track Club’s support of U.S. distance running and are happy to see the USA Men’s 10 km Championship return to the AJC Peachtree Road Race,” said Michael McNees, Interim CEO of USA Track & Field. “The rich tradition associated with the AJC Peachtree Road Race provides the perfect atmosphere to highlight some of the best road running athletes in the U.S., and we look forward to another great race on July 4.”

Along with hosting the USA Men’s 10K Championship again, the 2011 AJC Peachtree Road Race will also serve as the title tilt for the Professional Road Running Organization’s (PRRO) race circuit, a nationwide series of five road racing events that along with Peachtree includes the Boilermaker 15K in Utica, N.Y.; World’s Best 10K in San Juan, PR; Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run in Washington D.C.; and Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K in Spokane, Wash. Eligible athletes – those that placed first in one of the four PRRO events prior to Peachtree – receive a $10,000 PRRO bonus upon winning the 2011 AJC Peachtree Road Race.

2011 marks the 42nd running of the AJC Peachtree Road Race which takes place every year on the Fourth of July in Atlanta. With more 50,000 timed finishers in the 2010 event, the AJC Peachtree Road Race remains the world’s largest 10K running event and the nation’s largest running race.

The first Peachtree was held in 1970 and featured 110 runners. The AJC Peachtree Road Race is perhaps most famous for the coveted AJC Peachtree Road Race T-shirt, which is handed out to all the event finishers.

From: Running USA

FILED UNDER: News TAGS: / / / / / / / / /

Duncan Larkin

Duncan Larkin

Duncan Larkin is the news editor at and a freelance journalist who’s been covering the sport of running for over five years. He’s run 2:32 in the marathon and won the Himalayan 100-Mile Stage Race in 2007. His first running book, RUN SIMPLE, was released last July.

Get our best running content delivered to your inbox

Subscribe to the FREE Competitor Running weekly newsletter