Two Men’s Mile Races At Upcoming Pre Classic

Asbel Kiprop is the defending Bowerman Mile champion. Photo: IAAF

Asbel Kiprop is the defending Bowerman Mile champion. Photo: IAAF

Some of the best middle-distance runners in the world will be there.

Lots of mile action in Eugene this Saturday at the Prefontaine Classic. Two men’s mile races are scheduled. The first event is called the “International Mile”, which has attracted 2010 winner Ryan Gregson of Australia.

Gregson’s winning time last year was 3:53.19. He will face off against Kenya’s Gideon Gathimba who boasts a 3:50 mile PR. Former world 800m champion, Alfred Kirwa Yego, will also be there. He, too has a 3:50 mile PR. In addition, there are six runners in the field who have run under 3:57.

The second mile event is the more famous of the two: The Bowerman Mile, which is considered an official Samsung Diamond League race. The winner of the race will score points for the season Diamond League middle-distance prize ($40,000).

The clear favorite to win the race is Asbel Kiprop who won the event last year. He has a 3:48 mile PR. However, the field is stacked with a total of six of the top 10 best milers in the world toeing the line.

For More: IAAF


Start your FREE subscription to Competitor Digital today!

Get our monthly digital magazine, weekly running content & exclusive offers delivered to your inbox.

Recent Stories