Majors Series Trophy To Be Named After Sammy Wanjiru

  • By Duncan Larkin
  • Published Jul. 19, 2011
  • Updated Sep. 12, 2012 at 12:55 PM UTC
Thanks to the World Marathon Majors Series, Sammy Waniru's legacy lives on. Photo:

Thanks to the World Marathon Majors Series, Sammy Waniru's legacy lives on. Photo:

The news was announced at his funeral last month.

Though his passing was tragic and the circumstances surrounding his death remain shrouded in mystery, late Olympic marathon gold medalist Sammy Wanjiru’s legacy as one of the best runners ever will be commemorated by the World Majors Marathon Series. At his funeral last month, it was announced that the trophy for the two-year series will be named after Wanjiru.

Dave Bedford, the Virgin London Marathon director, who represented the Series at the funeral confirmed the news. “I came here to represent the World Marathon Majors and we have sat down and decided to name the trophy after him and it is only fitting since he won it twice in a row,” he said.

The series is comprised of the following large-city marathons: Boston, Berlin, Chicago, London, and New York. Wanjiru won the 2008/2009 series and held on to the trophy when he defeated Ethiopian rival Tsegay Kebede at last year’s Bank of America Chicago Marathon.

Wanjiru died on May 15 when he fell from the second-floor balcony of his mansion in Kenya.

For More: Capital FM Sports

FILED UNDER: New York City Marathon / News TAGS: / / / / / / / / /

Duncan Larkin

Duncan Larkin

Duncan Larkin is the news editor at and a freelance journalist who’s been covering the sport of running for over five years. He’s run 2:32 in the marathon and won the Himalayan 100-Mile Stage Race in 2007. His first running book, RUN SIMPLE, was released last July.

Get our best running content delivered to your inbox

Subscribe to the FREE Competitor Running weekly newsletter