Battle Heats Up For Women’s Marathon Series Points

  • By Duncan Larkin
  • Published Aug. 27, 2011
  • Updated Sep. 12, 2012 at 12:55 PM UTC
With her recent win at Worlds, Edna Kiplagat has a chance to win the World Marathon Majors Series. Photo:

It’s now Edna Kiplagat versus Liliya Shobukhova.

Written by: David Monti

(c) 2011 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved. Used with permission.

With her recent win at Worlds, Edna Kiplagat has a chance to win the World Marathon Majors Series. Photo:

DAEGU — With her victory in the World Championships marathon here today, Kenya’s Edna Kiplagat is now threatening Russia’s Liliya Shobukhova for the overall points title in the 2010/2011 World Marathon Majors series and the $500,000 winner-take-all prize.

Shobukhova, who won the 2010 Virgin London and Bank of America Chicago Marathons, now has 65 points, five more than Kiplagat. Both women have scheduled fall marathons (Chicago for Shobukhova and New York for Kiplagat).

Because Shobukhova was second at this year’s Virgin London Marathon and Kiplagat third, she would win any tie. Therefore, Kiplagat needs at least six more points than Shobukhova to win. So, should both Shobukhova and Kiplagat win their respective fall marathons, Shobukhova will once again be the series champion. However, if Shobukhova does not win in Chicago and Kiplagat wins in New York, Kiplagat wins the series with 85 points to Shobukhova’s 80 or fewer.

The World Marathon Majors is an alliance of five commercial marathons –BMW Berlin, Boston, Bank of America Chicago, ING New York City, and Virgin London– which includes the marathons of the IAAF World Championships and Olympic Games when they occur. Series winners are determined by point totals scored over a two-year period.

FILED UNDER: New York City Marathon / News TAGS: / / / / / /

Duncan Larkin

Duncan Larkin

Duncan Larkin is the news editor at and a freelance journalist who’s been covering the sport of running for over five years. He’s run 2:32 in the marathon and won the Himalayan 100-Mile Stage Race in 2007. His first running book, RUN SIMPLE, was released last July.

Get our best running content delivered to your inbox

Subscribe to the FREE Competitor Running weekly newsletter