First Diamond League Champions Crowned In Zürich

Kenya's Vivian Cheruiyot remains at the top in the women's 5000m. Photo: Capital FM Sports

Double world gold medalist Vivian Cheruiyot wins the 5000m.

Written by: David Monti

(c) 2011 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved. Used with permission.

Kenya's Vivian Cheruiyot remains at the top in the women's 5000m. Photo: Capital FM Sports

At the first of two finals of the 2011 Samsung Diamond League last night at the Weltklasse in Zürich, 16 series champions were crowned, each receiving an award of USD $40,000 based on their aggregate point totals throughout the season. Points were doubled in last night’s competition; event winners received 8 points instead of the usual 4.

Only the series winner for each event received a cash award, although prize money was paid for the lower placings at individual meetings throughout the season.

These are the final standings from the middle and long distance events which concluded last night:

MEN – 1500m: 1. Nixon Chepseba, KEN, 12 points (USD 40,000) 2. Asbel Kiprop, KEN, 11 points 3. Silas Kiplagat, KEN, 10 points 4. Haron Keitany, KEN, 8 points 5. Mekonnen Gebremedhin, ETH, 2 points 5. Augustine Choge, KEN, 1 point

3000m S/C: 1. Paul Kipsiele Koech, KEN, 17 points (USD 40,000) 2. Ezekiel Kemboi, KEN, 16 points 3. Benjamin Kiplagat, UGA, 5 points 4. Jonathan Ndiku, KEN, 1 point 5. Hillary Kipsang Yego, KEN, 1 point

WOMEN – 800m: 1. Jenny Meadows, GBR, 11 points (USD 40,000) 2. Kenia Sinclair, JAM, 10 points 3. Mariya Savinova, RUS, 10 points 4. Caster Semenya, RSA, 7 points 5. Halima Hachlaf, MAR, 6 points 6. Alysia Montano, USA, 4 points 7. Malika Akkaoui, MAR, 4 points 8. Janeth Jepkosgei, KEN, 1 point

5000m: 1. Vivian Cheruiyot, KEN, 20 points (USD 40,000) 2. Sally Kipyego, KEN, 6 points 3. Sentayehu Ejigu, ETH, 6 points 4. Linet Masai, KEN, 5 points 5. Mercy Cherono, KEN, 2 points 6. Helen Clitheroe, GBR, 2 points 7. Silvia Kibet, KEN, 1 point

The second half of the final takes place in Brussels on September 16. In the middle and long distance events, the series champions will be determined for the men’s 800m (David Rudisha leads), men’s 5000m (Mo Farah), women’s 1500m (Morgan Uceny), and women’s 3000m steeplechasse (Milcah Chemos).

Recent Stories