Field Set For Peachtree Road Race Circuit

By winning the Boilermaker 15K, Ridouane Harroufi is qualified for the PRRO Circuit purse. Photo: IAAF

Seven runners are eligible for a $10,000 purse.

From: Running USA

ATLANTA – (June 20, 2012) – With the four 2011-12 PRRO Circuit races now completed, seven runners are eligible to compete for the $10,000 PRRO Circuit purse at the PRRO Circuit Championship at the AJC Peachtree Road Race in Atlanta, GA on Wednesday, July 4, 2012. Runners qualify to compete for the PRRO Circuit purse by winning any one of the four lead-up 2011-12 circuit events and winning the PRRO Circuit Championship. If any of the qualified runners wins the Championship, he or she will claim the $10,000 circuit purse in addition to the $15,000 first place prize at the AJC Peachtree Road Race for a $25,000 payday. The $10,000 purse is split if qualified male and female runners win at Peachtree. If no qualified runner wins at Peachtree, the purse will be increased by $5000 to $15,000 for the 2012-13 Circuit Championship.

The eligible runners and the races at which they qualified are:

Qualified by winning the Boilermaker 15K (Utica, NY) on July 10, 2011
Male: Ridouane Harroufi (MAR), 43:30
Female: Alice Timbilili (KEN), 48:40

Qualified by winning the World’s Best 10K (San Juan, PUR) on February 26, 2012
Male: Sammy Kitwara (KEN), 28:02
Female: Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN), 30:47

Qualified by winning the Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile (Washington, DC) on April 1, 2012
Male: Allan Kiprono (KEN), 45:15
Female: Julliah Tinega (KEN), 54:02

Qualified by winning the Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K (Spokane, WA) on May 6, 2012
Male: Allan Kiprono (KEN), 34:29
Female: Mamitu Daska (ETH), 38:26

Kenyan Allan Kiprono won two of the PRRO Circuit lead-up events, the Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile and the Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, resulting in a total of seven qualifiers from among the four lead-up events.

The PRRO Circuit purse reset to $10,000 this season after Sammy Kitwara won last year’s PRRO Circuit Championship.

The 2011-12 PRRO Circuit included:
Boilermaker 15K
July 10, 2011, Utica, NY
World’s Best 10K
February 26, 2012, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile
April 1, 2012, Washington, DC
Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K
May 6, 2012, Spokane, WA
The AJC Peachtree Road Race (2011-12 PRRO Championship)
July 4, 2012, Atlanta, GA

The PRRO Circuit offers world class competition for athletes of all nations in events shorter than the marathon distance. The circuit has shown its commitment to a drug-free sport by funding mandatory drug testing for elite athletes at all the PRRO Circuit events. The testing is carried out by the United States Anti-Doping Agency.

Visit for more information.

Privacy Policy | Contact

Recent Stories