Trafeh Defends His 10-Mile U.S. Title

Mo Trafeh breaks the tape to win the U.S. 10-Mile Championship. Photo: Competitive Image

Janet Bawcom was the women’s winner.

From: Running USA

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. — Facing chilly early morning temperatures on Sunday, Mo Trafeh of Duarte, Calif. and Janet Bawcom of Rome, Ga. each defended their national titles at the USA 10 Mile Championships hosted by the 14th Medtronic TC 10 Mile which had an event record of more than 7,700 finishers.

Bawcom, 34, cruised to the crown in a time of 53 minutes, 43 seconds to finish ahead of runner-up, course record holder and Minnesota native Kara Goucher (53:56) and third place finisher Alisha Williams(54:08), while Trafeh, 27, recorded a winning time of 46:56 followed by national runner-up Ben True (47:19) and Jacob Riley third (47:22).

PHOTOS: Twin Cities Marathon Weekend

It was the third USA title on the roads in 2012 for Bawcom as she also has won national titles in the 15K and 25K earlier in the year and the 2012 Olympian captured her sixth USA title in the last two seasons (10K, 10 Mile and 20K in 2011).

Sunday’s win also continues an impressive run for Trafeh as well, who picked up his fifth USA title in the last two years and his second title in 2012. Trafeh won the USA 15K title this year at Gate River Run and picked up wins in the 10 Mile, 15K and Half Marathon in 2011.

The gender challenge returned in 2012, and the professional U.S. women were given a 6 minute, 31 second head start on the field, and like last year, Trafeh triumphed and passed Bawcom with approximately a half mile remaining to win the $10,000 Equalizer Bonus.

14th Medtronic TC 10: USA 10 Mile Championships
Minneapolis, MN, Sunday, October 7, 2012

1) Mo Trafeh (CA), 46:56, $22,000*
2) Ben True (ME), 47:19, $7500
3) Jacob Riley (MI), 47:22, $5000
4) Tim Ritchie (MA), 47:25, $2000
5) Brent Vaughn (OR), 47:26, $1500
6) Aaron Braun (AZ), 47:40, $750
7) Andrew Carlson (MN), 47:48, $500
8) Christo Landry (MI), 47:52, $275
9) Antonio Vega (MN), 47:53, $250
10) Jeremy Criscione (FL), 47:54, $225
*includes $10,000 Equalizer Bonus as the first runner across the finish line

1) Janet Bawcom (GA), 53:43, $12,000
2) Kara Goucher (OR), 53:56, $7500
3) Alisha Williams (CO), 54:08, $5000
4) Julie Culley (NJ), 54:33, $2000
5) Katie DiCamillo (RI), 54:35, $1500
6) Laura Thweatt (CO), 54:45, $750
7) Kristen Fryburg-Zaitz (CO), 54:55, $500
8) Ladia Albertson-Junkans (MN), 55:44, $275
9) Meghan Peyton (MN), 55:58, $250
10) Lauren Kleppin (WI), 56:01, $225

Recent Stories