Runners Brave South Pole Marathon

  • By Duncan Larkin
  • Published Nov. 27, 2012
  • Updated Nov. 27, 2012 at 12:58 PM UTC
Andrew Murray prevailed at the South Pole Marathon. Photo: Ice

The two champions had won the North Pole Marathon earlier this year.

Scotland’s Andrew Murray is king of the poles. Last Wednesday, he won the South Pole Marathon. He won the North Pole Marathon earlier in the year.

The same is true for the women’s champion, Demelza Farr, of Sydney, Australia.

At the Eighth Antarctic Ice Marathon, 46 athletes from 15 countries braved sub-zero conditions. It ended up being a duel between Spanish runner Luis Marco and Scotland’s Murray.

“Amazing conditions actually, it’s only -15. Amazing visibility, all the mountains are out. It’s not bad under foot. There are soft bits but what an experience. It’s amazing, fantastic race,” Murray said.

The lead see-sawed between Murray and Marco until the 22-mile point when the Scotsman made the key move. He ended up setting a new course record in 3:41:15.

Marco finished eight minutes later.

There were 11 women runners in the field.

Demelza Farr’s winning time was 5:09:43. “God I wanted it so bad, I never thought I would do this,” she said. “My back was in so much pain, I had a bad training run a few weeks ago. I never thought I would do it, I can’t believe it,”

For More: Today’s THV


Duncan Larkin

Duncan Larkin

Duncan Larkin is the news editor at and a freelance journalist who’s been covering the sport of running for over five years. He’s run 2:32 in the marathon and won the Himalayan 100-Mile Stage Race in 2007. His first running book, RUN SIMPLE, was released last July.

Get our best running content delivered to your inbox

Subscribe to the FREE Competitor Running weekly newsletter