RRCA Announces 2013 Championship Calendar

Photo: Running USA

At least five of the events will be entered to win a $1000 performance-bonus contest.

For More: Running USA

The RRCA Championship Event Series is one of the oldest distance running traditions in the US, dating back to 1958 when the RRCA awarded their first championship designation. The goal of the RRCA Championship Event Series is to shine a spotlight on well-run, community-based events, and to promote the sport of running by recognizing the top performing runners in the Open, Masters (40+), Grand Masters (50+), and Senior Grand Masters (60+) categories for both men and women as RRCA Champions.

In 2011, the RRCA Championship Event Series included 170 races at the State, Regional and National level that attracted over 265,000 runners nationwide, making it the largest grassroots-organized, running event series in the US. RRCA Championship Events receive sponsorship support from Gatorade as the Official Beverage of the series; Sports Authority as the Presenting Sponsor of the Series; Ashworth Awards a the Official Award Provider for the series; and Coolmax gifts for RRCA champions.  Information about all RRCA Championship Events in the series can be found at www.RRCA.org.

New for 2013, U.S.-based runners that race in at least five of the 2013 RRCA National Championship Events will be entered to win a $1000 performance bonus contest. The RRCA will award one eligible male and one eligible female with a $1000 bonus for having the highest place finishes over five RRCA National Championship Events. Learn more at www.rrca.org/programs/rrca-championship-series/

2013 RRCA National Championships

Kaiser Permanente Napa Valley Marathon 
Napa, CA – Sunday, March 3, 2013

Presidio 10 Mile 
San Francisco, CA – Sunday, April 21, 2013

Run for the Zoo 10K 
Albuquerque, NM – Sunday, May 5, 2013

Great Cranberry Island 50K Ultra 
Great Cranberry Island, ME – Saturday, July 27, 2013

Woodstock 5K 
Anniston, AL – Saturday, August 3, 2013

Woodrow Wilson Bridge Half Marathon 
Alexandria, VA – Saturday, October 6, 2013

2013 Central Region Championship Events

Westport St. Patricks Day Run 5K
Kansas City, MO – Saturday, March 9, 2013

Medical Mutual Class City Marathon
Toledo, OH – Sunday, April 28, 2013

Ice Age Trail 50
La Grange, WI – Saturday, May 11, 2013

Dexter to Ann Arbor Run- Half Marathon
Ann Arbor, MI – Sunday, June 2, 2013

Route 66 10K
Edwardsville, IL – Saturday, June 8, 2013

2013 Eastern Region Championship Events

Wicked Frosty Four 
Salem, MA – Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Parks Half Marathon
Bethesda, MD – Sunday, September 8, 2013

The Genworth Virginia 10 Miler
Lynchburg, VA – September 28, 2013

Blue Cruise 50K
Leesport, PA – October 6, 2013

Mount Desert Island Marathon
Bar Harbor, ME – Sunday, October 12, 2013

Maine Running Company Turkey Trot 5K
Cape Elizabeth, ME – November 17, 2013

2013 Southern Region Championship Events

Mississippi Blues Marathon
Jackson, MS – Saturday, January 5, 2013

Resolution Run Cross Country 10K
Columbia, SC – Saturday, January 5, 2013

Bold in the Cold 5K
Grapevine, TX – Saturday, January 12, 2013

Sickle Cell Road Race
College Park, GA – Saturday, April 13, 2013

Go! Mile
LIttle Rock, AR – Saturday, June 15, 2013

Carrboro 10K
Carrboro, NC – Saturday, October 5, 2013

Run for Water 10 Miler
Austin, TX – Sunday, October 27, 2013

UltraCentric
Grapevine, TX – Saturday, November 16, 2013

Space Coast Half Marathon
Cocoa Beach, FL – Sunday, November 24, 2013

2013 Western Region Championship Events

Johnny Faerber 10K
Honolulu, HI – Sunday, February 3, 2013

Kaiser Permanente San Francisco Half Marathon
San Francisco, CA – Sunday, February 3, 2013

Avenue of the Giants Marathon
Weott, CA – Sunday, May 5, 2013

Heart and Sole Run 5K
Billings, MT – Saturday, June 15, 2013

Stapleton Central Park XC
Denver, CO – Saturday, October 12, 2013

Get our best running content delivered to your inbox

Subscribe to the FREE Competitor Running newsletter

  • > I want it all!

Recent Stories

Videos

Photos