St. Louis Half Elite Field Announced

Photo: Running USA

A 63-minute half-marathoner, Matt Llano, headlines the group.

From: Running USA

ST. LOUIS, Mo.  – GO! St. Louis has announced the elite athlete field for the GO! St. Louis Half Marathon presented by PNC Bank, set for Sunday, April 7.  This year’s race features a top prize of $10,000, the fourth-largest such award among half marathons in the United States. Vying for that prize will be a top-notch field of professional athletes including 1:10 half marathonerMaegan Krifchin, who leads the women’s entries and 1:03 half marathoner Matt Llano, who headlines the men’s field.

Joining Llano in the men’s race will be his Team USA Arizona teammate Danny Mercado as well as past GO! St. Louis champions Daniel Kirwa (2012) and Josphat Boit (2011) from Kenya and Mexico’s Mario Macias. Macias returns to St. Louis after winning this race in 2010, when he posted a 1:05:09. Also expected to challenge for the title will be American Craig Curley, fresh off an 18th-place finish at the USA Cross Country Championships held in St. Louis on February 2.

On the women’s side, the 24-year-old Krifchin will have to battle veteran marathon star Tera Moody, who finished sixth at this year’s Chevron Houston Marathon. Top international entrants include Ethiopia’s Hirut Guangal who was second at the 2012 Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon and Kenya’s Sarah Kiptoo who has run 1:14 for the half marathon. American Mattie Suver, who will run for Team USA at the World Cross Country Championships on Sunday, March 24, is also expected to contend.

“I’m extremely pleased with the quality of athletes who will be competing this year,? 1; said Nancy Lieberman, GO! St. Louis president.  “St. Louis has a strong running community, and I know the participants and spectators will be in for a great showcase of our sport. It’s shaping up to be a highly competitive race that will feature some of the sport’s rising stars, along with a great number of accomplished runners.”

The elite field includes several athletes that will challenge the course records of 1:05:01, set by men’s record-holder Daniel Kirwa in 2012, and Serena Ramsey (Burla), 1:14:13, set in 2007.

Recent Stories