Twitter 100: Track & Field’s Top Tweeters

With more than 36,000 followers, U.S. marathoner Kara Goucher is 28th on the list of track & field athletes on Twitter. Photo: www.photorun.net

A list of the top 100 track & field athletes using the social media service Twitter.

(c) 2013 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved. Used with permission.

NEW YORK — Marathon world record holder Paula Radcliffe of Great Britain has become the 10th track & field athlete to eclipse 100,000 followers Twitter and has now joined the 10 most-followed athletes in the Race Results Weekly Twitter 100.

Radcliffe, who is still recovering from foot surgery and uses the Twitter handle @PaulaJRadcliffe, moved up from 11th position in Race Results Weekly’s last report in January, passing Jamaican sprinter Asafa Powell (@officialasafa) who has 94,275 followers.

Usain Bolt (@usainbolt) is still by far the most-followed athlete in athletics with 2,818,758 followers, and maintains his No. 1 rank. He gained approximately 308,000 followers since the January report. British heptathlete Jessica Ennis-Hill (@J_Ennis), remained second on the list with 1,203,905 followers, and is the only other athlete in the survey with over 1 million followers. British distance ace Mo Farah (@Mo_Farah) held on to his third place spot with 843,029 followers.

Other athletes who moved up significantly within the top-50 include Dominican 400m hurdler Felix Sánchez (@elsupersanchez), who moved to 12th position from 15th; Ethiopian marathon star Haile Gebrselassie (@HaileGebr), who went from 18th to 15th; Kenyan 800m world record holder David Rudisha (@rudishadavid), who went from 37th to 20th; and U.S. marathoner Kara Goucher (@KaraGoucher), who went from 41st to 28th.

Further down the list, American sprinters Manteo Mitchell (@ManteoMitchell) and Jeneba Tarmoh (@JenebaSylvia) enjoyed the biggest surges in follower growth. Mitchell jumped from 119th position to 35th with 28,940 followers, and Tarmoh leaped from 193rd to 45th with 22,154 followers.

The highest-ranked American in the list is sprint hurdler Lolo Jones (@lolojones), who held on to her fourth place spot from the last survey and now has 355,148 followers, up from 337,466 in January.

The Race Results Weekly Twitter 100 is only part of a much larger database of over 400 Twitter accounts of active and recently retired track & field athletes maintained by the New York-based distance running results, news and consulting service. Race Results Weekly welcomes additions to the top 100 at rrweekly@gmail.com.

Here is the full listing of the top 100:

Rank, Name, Nation, Event, Followers, Handle, Verified?
1. Usain Bolt, JAM, 100m/200m, 2,818,758, @usainbolt, Yes
2. Jessica Ennis-Hill, GBR, Heptathlon, 1,203,905, @J_Ennis, Yes
3. Mo Farah, GBR, 5000m/10,000m, 843,029, @Mo_Farah, Yes
4. Lolo Jones, USA, 100mH, 355,148, @lolojones, Yes
5. Oscar Pistorius, RSA, 400m, 315,872, @OscarPistorius, Yes
6. Yohan Blake, JAM, 100m/200m, 234,280, @YohanBlake, Yes
7. Dai Tamesue, JPN, 400mH, 168,159, @daijapan, No
8. Allyson Felix, USA, 100m/200m, 132,164, @allysonfelix, Yes
9. Greg Rutherford, GBR, Long Jump, 131,661, @GregJRutherford, Yes
10. Paula Radcliffe, GBR, Marathon, 101,858, @PaulaJRadcliffe, Yes
11. Asafa Powell, JAM, 100m/200m, 94,275, @officialasafa, Yes
12. Felix Sánchez, DOM, 400mH, 90,752, @elsupersanchez, Yes
13. Ryuji Kashiwabara, JPN, 5000m, 86,691, @kashi0713, No
14. Sanya Richards-Ross, USA, 200m/400m, 80,909, @SanyaRichiRoss, Yes
15. Haile Gebrselassie, ETH, Marathon, 68,887, @HaileGebr, No
16. Javier Culson, PUR, 400mH, 64,535, @JavierCulson, No
17. Ryan Hall, USA, Marathon, 62,767, @ryanhall3, Yes
18. Tyson Gay, USA, 100m/200m, 62,148, @TysonLGay, Yes
19. Josh Cox, USA, Marathon, 57,489, @JoshCox, No
20. David Rudisha, KEN, 800m, 47,920, @rudishadavid, No
21. Dai Greene, GBR, 400mH, 45,793, @DaiGreene, Yes
22. Katarina Johnson-Thompson, GBR, Heptathlon, 44,447, @JohnsonThompson, Yes
23. Scott Jurek, USA, Ultramarathon, 43,424, @ScottJurek, No
24. Phllips Idowu, GBR, TJ, 42,508, @PhillipsIdowu, Yes
25. Carmelita Jeter, USA, 100m/200m, 41,851, @CarmelitaJeter, Yes
26. Kelly Sotherton , GBR, Heptathlon, 38,348, @KellySotherton, Yes
27. Shalane Flanagan, USA, Marathon, 38,150, @ShalaneFlanagan, Yes
28. Kara Goucher, USA, Marathon, 36,042, @karagoucher, Yes
29. Adam Gemili, GBR, 100m, 34,894, @Adam_Gemili, Yes
30. Ashton Eaton, USA, Deca, 33,558, @AshtonJEaton, Yes
31. Meb Keflezighi, USA, Marathon, 33,294, @runmeb, Yes
32. Nick Symmonds, USA, 800m, 31,838, @NickSymmonds, Yes
33. Chema Martinez, ESP, Road Running/Marathon, 30,024, @chemitamartinez, No
34. Bernard Lagat, USA, 1500m/5000m, 29,966, @lagat1500, Yes
35. Manteo Mitchell, USA, 400m, 28,940, @ManteoMitchell, Yes
36. Natasha Hastings, USA, 400m, 28,161, @natashahastings, No
37. Warren Weir, JAM, 100m/200m, 26,580, @Warren_Weir, No
38, Kellie Wells, USA, 100mH, 26,057, @KellieWellz, Yes
39. Justin Gatlin, USA, 100m, 25,754, @justingatlin, Yes
40. Luguelin Santos, DOM, 400m, 24,628, @LuguelinSantos, No
41. Galen Rupp, USA, 5000m/10,000m, 24,247, @G_Rupp, Yes
42. Perri Shakes-Drayton, GBR, 400m, 23,450, @Shakesdrayton, Yes
43. Holly Bleasdale, GBR, PV, 22,632, @HollyBleasdale, Yes
44. Churandy Martina, NED, 100m, 22,165, @Martina200m, Yes
45. Jeneba Tarmoh, USA, 100m/200m, 22,154, @JenebaSylvia, Yes
46. Lawrence Okoye, GBR, DT, 21,601, @Okoye, Yes
47. Shelly Ann Fraser-Pryce, JAM, 100m/200m, 20,652, @realshellyannfp, No
48. Wallace Spearmon, USA, 100m/200m, 19,782, @Princespearmon, Yes
49. Sara Hall, USA, 3000m S/C, 19,650, @SaraHall3, No
50. Andreas Thorkildsen, NOR, Javelin, 18,514, @Athorkildsen, No
51. Dathan Ritzenhein, USA, 10,000m/Marathon, 17,551, @djritzenhein, Yes
52. David Oliver, USA, 110mH, 17,517, @doliversub13, No
53. Christine Ohuruogu, GBR, 400m, 17,466, @chrissyohuruogu, Yes
54. Lauren Fleshman, USA, 5000m, 16,715, @laurenfleshman, No
55. Andy Turner, GBR, 110mH, 16,677, @andyturner110h, Yes
56. Doc Patton, USA, 2000m, 15,979, @doc_patton, Yes
57. Trey Hardee, USA, Deca, 15,406, @treyhardee, Yes
58. Bianca Knight, USA, 100m/200m, 15,211, @MidKnightDreams, Yes
59. Demetrius Pinder, BAH, 200m/400m, 15,133, @DamnNearGreat, Yes
60. Martyn Rooney, GBR, 400m, 15,046, @MartynRooney, Yes
61. Alysia Montano, USA, 800m, 14,721, @Alysia800, Yes
62. Koji Murofushi, JPN, HT, 14,647, @KojiMurofushi, No
63. Andrew Wheating, USA, 1500m, 14,617, @AndrewWheating, Yes
64. Hannah England, GBR, 1500m, 14,370, @hannengland, Yes
65. Evan Jager, USA, 3000m S/C, 13,636, @EvanJager, No
66. Veronica Campbell-Brown, JAM, 100m/200m, 13,549, @VCampbellBrown, Yes
67. Elena Isinbaeva, RUS, PV, 13,397, @yelenaisinbaeva, Yes
68. Chris Solinsky, USA, 5000m/10,000m, 13,322, @ChrisSolinsky, No
69. Bryan Clay, USA, Deca, 13,217, @bryanclay, Yes
70. Matthew Centrowitz, USA, 1500m, 13,109, @MattCentrowitz, Yes
71. Masashi Eriguchi, JPN, 100m, 12,891, @S_maroro, No
72. Andrew Osagie, GBR, 800m, 12,805, @andrewosagie, Yes
73. LaShawn Merritt, USA, 400m, 12,170, @lashawnmerritt, Yes
74. Chris Tomlinson, GBR, LJ, 12,018, @LongJumpChris, Yes
75. Robbie Grabarz, GBR, HJ, 12,003, @RobbieGrabarz, Yes
76. Leo Manzano, USA, 1500m, 11,911, @Leomanzano, Yes
77. Jordan Hasay, USA, 1500m/5000m, 11,839, @JordanHasay, No
78. Ryan Sandes, RSA, Ultramarathon, 11,491, @ryansandes, No
79. Jack Green, GBR, 400mH, 11,178, @jackpgreen, Yes
80. Helen Clitheroe, GBR, 10,000m/Road Running, 11,065, @clitherbot, Yes
81. Angelo Taylor, USA, 400mH, 10,858, @Angelo_Taylor, Yes
82. Goldie Sayers, GBR, JT, 10,795, @goldiesayers, Yes
83. Renaud Lavillenie, FRA, PV, 10,601, @airlavillenie, No
84. Steve Lewis, GBR, PV, 10,491, @AirLewis, Yes
85. Dee Dee Trotter, USA, 400mH, 10,488, @DTrott400m, Yes
86. Sonia O’Sullivan, IRL, Road Running, 10,430, @soniaagrith, No
87. Lopez Lomong, USA, 5000m, 10,334, @lopezlomong, Yes
88. Matt Tegenkamp, USA, 5000m/10,000m, 10,063, @MattTegenkamp, Yes
89. Ross Murray, GBR, 1500m, 10,005, @RosscoJammin, Yes
90. Jason Richardson, USA, 110mH, 10,005, @JaiRich, Yes
91. Desiree Davila, USA, Marathon, 9,982, @des_davila, Yes
92. Nick Willis, NZL, 1500m, 9,782, @nickwillis, Yes
93. Aires Merritt, USA, 110mH, 9,582, @amhurdlestar, Yes
94. Jo Pavey, GBR, 10,000m/Marathon, 9,561, @jopavey, No
95. Christian Malcolm, GBR, 200m, 9,552, @ChristianM200, Yes
96. Jeremy Wariner, USA, 400m, 9,132, @Jwariner, Yes
97. Jenny Simpson, USA, 1500m, 9,044, @trackjenny, Yes
98. Jason Smyth, IRL, 100m/200m, 9,003, @smyth_jason, Yes
99. Ciaran O’Lionaird, IRL, 1500m, 8,901, @GoCiaran, Yes
100. Lashinda Demus, USA, 400mH, 8,892, @LashindaDemus, Yes

Top Stories

Videos

Photos