NYRR Hall Of Fame For Rodgers, Samuelson, Shorter

Olympic gold medalist Frank Shorter is a member of the NYRR's 2013 Hall of Fame class. Photo: www.photorun.net

The late Ted Corbitt will be honored as well.

American marathon legends Frank Shorter, Bill Rodgers, and Joan Benoit Samuelson will be inducted into the New York Road Runners’ Hall of Fame this year.

“The Class of 2013 is an extraordinary one featuring larger than life champions who defined our sport and inspired generations of New Yorkers and runners worldwide,” New York Road Runners CEO Mary Wittenberg said in a press release.

“Forever linked together as pillars of our sport in this country and inspiration for generations of runners, it is only appropriate that Billy, Frank and Joanie enter the Hall of together. Their legacies as champions on the field and off will never fade away,” Wittenberg added. “Ted was our gentle giant in the sport, leading quietly and with dignity in promoting, building and improving our sport for runners of all ages and abilities. Our Jackie Robinson in breaking down the color barrier. Ted’s passion for the sport lives on every day here at NYRR, the organization he helped create.”

Privacy Policy | Contact

Recent Stories