Daska Collects PRRO Circuit Race Bonus

Mamitu Daska is practically unbeatable on the U.S. road-racing circuit. Photo: Daily Gazette

The Ethiopian was awarded $10,000 for her victories.

From: Running USA

Mamitu Daska of Ethiopia won the PRRO Race of Champions and collected the 2011-12 season-ending $10,000 PRRO Circuit Bonus at this year’s AJC Peachtree Road Race 10K in Atlanta, GA on July 4. She then did a quick turnaround five days later to beat all other females at the Utica Boilermaker 15K, thereby becoming eligible to compete for next year’s Circuit Bonus. Daska was joined by Boilermaker men’s champion Tilahun Regassa, also of Ethiopia, in becoming the first two athletes eligible to compete for the 2012-13 PRRO Circuit Bonus.

Daska’s victory at Peachtree was a narrow one, as she edged Kenyans Lineth Chepkurui and Risper Gesawba by a mere second. She had a somewhat easier time at the Boilermaker, where she finished 18 seconds ahead of Gesabwa.

“Daska has been on a tear all season long, so her victory at Peachtree wasn’t a shock,” said PRRO President Don Kardong. “But it was certainly impressive to see her win again in tough competition only five days later in Utica.”

The only male runner in the Peachtree field eligible to compete for the Bonus, Sammy Kitwara, who earned eligibility to compete for the Bonus with a win at the World’s Best 10K last February, finished 8th at Peachtree. Ridouane Harroufi, who earned eligibility with a victory at the 2011 Utica Boilermaker, had to withdraw from the Peachtree field after being involved in an auto accident. Peachtree’s men’s champion, Peter Cheruiyot Kirui of Kenya, was not eligible since he did not qualify with a win at any of the 2011-12 PRRO circuit events.

Under rules of the PRRO Circuit, an athlete who wins one of the first four PRRO Circuit events, and finishes first at the PRRO Championship at the AJC Peachtree Road Race, claims the PRRO Circuit Bonus. The Bonus is split if an eligible male and female both win the Championship at Peachtree. If no eligible athlete wins, then the Bonus grows by an additional $5000 for the following season. With Daska’s win, the 2012-13 Circuit Bonus resets to $10,000.

The 2011-12 PRRO Circuit included the Boilermaker 15K in Utica, NY on July 10, 2011; the World’s Best 10K in San Juan, Puerto Rico on February 26, 2012; the Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile in Washington, DC on April 1, 2012; the Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K in Spokane, WA on May 6, 2012; and the PRRO Championship at the AJC Peachtree Road Race on July 4, 2012.

The PRRO Circuit offers world-class competition for athletes of all nations in events shorter than the marathon distance. The circuit has shown its commitment to a drug-free sport by funding mandatory drug testing for elite athletes at all the PRRO Circuit events. The testing is carried out by the United States Anti-Doping Agency.

Visit www.prro.org for more information including the 2012-13 schedule.

[related location="article-footer"]

Recent Stories