Nominations Open For National Running Awards

Photo: Running USA

A Physically-Challenged Athlete of the Year category was added this year.

From: Running USA

In 1971, Road Runners Club of America (RRCA) developed the RRCA National Running Awards to acknowledge the service and dedication of outstanding volunteers to the running community. Each year club and event leaders around the United States are encouraged to nominate outstanding individuals for an RRCA National Running Award.

The outstanding contributors to our sport are recognized at the RRCA Annual Banquet and National Running Awards Ceremony. Each year the RRCA provides a travel stipend and a free ticket for these deserving individuals to attend the banquet and awards ceremony.

The categories for the awards are as follows. Get more information about each category by clicking the hyperlinked category name:

New to the awards this year is the Physically Challenged Athlete of the Year.

In May 2012, the RRCA Board of Directors elected to include the category of Physically Challenged Athlete of the Year as part of the annual Road Runners of Year award category that is included in the overall RRCA National Running Awards program.

Nominees for this award must actively participant in running events with a verified disability. For this award category, the RRCA defines a physically challenged athlete as a male or female athlete racing in multiple events throughout the course of the year without the use of a limb or combination of limbs (leg, arm). Athletes may race with or without the use of prosthetics. Athletes may also race using a push-rim wheelchair. Physical disabilities also include dwarfism, amputation/limb loss, blindness/visual impairment, spinal cord injury/wheelchair-users and cerebral palsy/brain injury/stroke. =

To nominate a deserving individual for an award, review the Award Categories and Selection Criteria Information below; then complete the online nomination form during the nomination period. Nominations open November 1st and are due 5:00 PM Eastern on Monday, December 31. Only nominations made through the official online form will be accepted.

Award winners are chosen by a volunteer selection panel from the nominations submitted for each award category. The RRCA awards selection panels are a great opportunity to get involved with the organization at the National level. For more information about serving on a selection panel email

For more information, visit:

Recent Stories